capioIT is six months old. New companies are like having kids. They give you joy, they give you tears, and they keep you up at night.


They also mean that you celebrate each milestone. One day old, one week old, one month old. You count them all! The good news for us is that capioIT is now six months old. As a baby it is rolling over, starting solids and giggling

I have really enjoyed having my own firm. Clearly it is a lot of hard work, but it has been exciting and frankly, the most fun I have had in my professional career.  I am also grateful for the support from other analysts, vendors, end-users and the industry in general.

In the last six months, I have accelerated capabilities that will enable me to expand what I can do in the second half of the year as we approach our first birthday and start walking and talking.

I made a lot of noise about my model. I am really satisfied that to date it has worked and I have done what I promised. The two key pillars that I based capioIT on, Innovation and Collaboration have been central.

Innovation wise, one of the most important things I have done is created a new taxonomy for the industry that looks at markets as a matrix. It is complex, but then again engagement by the enterprise with a service or solution provider is complex. It allows consideration of market opportunities from two perspectives, what vendors sell, and what enterprises actually want to procure. This is unique in the industry and is aligned with ensuring cloud engagements are quantitatively measured and not just reassigned from thin air. Look for the first Services report with the new format soon. It will be on New Zealand.

The second area of innovation surrounds the capture share document. This rates vendors on almost 20 variables. We completed the SAP AP Services document earlier this year and have had very encouraging feedback. There is more to come.

Collaborations have also been successful. Most recently Horses for Sources and capioIT announced capioIT as the contributor for the Asia Pacific region for them. Expect to see a lot more from this in the next few months. I am looking at the first BPO report with HfS Research in the near future.

IBRS has been very positive as well. This has given me access to real end users and the ability to help them solve their real IT problems. Additionally, and perhaps most importantly it has given me a unique peer group who have improved my abilities as an analyst immensely. The review process means that the quality of my research output across the board has improved as I have been forced to think differently about what I write.

Market wise, I have undertaken work touching upon the entire Asia Pacific region. I also have done some work on the Middle East and Africa marketplace. Clearly the Middle East and North African markets are in a state of flux at the moment, but as they stabilise we will be looking to help vendors understand what it all means for them. Whilst some analyst firms are wary about emerging markets, capioIT is focused on emerging markets. We are committed to remaining so. That is written in stone.

I have done a lot of work around infrastructure/cloud solutions across the regions. When the genuine CIO perspective is integrated I am able to go much deeper into what is driving future investment. I am also currently working on a Business Intelligence research series as well.

As promised, I have worked with many CIO’s over the last six months. This adds a level of depth and polish to the research that is hard to beat. Perhaps the biggest surprise for someone who has been an analyst as long as I have is the number of new vendors I have engaged with. capioIT is not constrained to just focus on the largest vendors in the market. As a result, I have met with 25 or so firms that are new to me. I have been the first analyst some of these firms have actively dealt with.  To say this is refreshing is a major understatement. They have included cloud providers in New Zealand, niche services providers in Kenya and Board Portal Software firms in Silicon Valley. It gives so much more depth to my knowledge, research and capabilities.

Finally, whilst some analyst firms are wary about emerging markets, capioIT is focused on emerging markets. We are committed to remaining so. That is written in stone.

Thanks again for the support over the last 6 months. I look forward to it continuing over the next 6 months as we turn one and start walking to infinity and beyond (to quote Buzz Lightyear, yes, I have real kids of my own….).

About capioIT - Phil Hassey

capioIT is an advisory firm focused on helping organisations to understand emerging technology in emerging markets. CEO Phil Hassey established the company in 2010
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

